# Montenegrin Elections MNEE Database

# Dates when elections were held

Last updated: 20 April 2022



# Contents

Parliamentary Elections	3
Presidential Elections	4
Local Elections	5
Federal Elections (during the time of FR Yugoslavia, 1992-2002)	9

### **Parliamentary Elections**



#### **Presidential Elections**

#### 1990

- 9 December First round for the members of the Presidency of Montenegro and a President of the Presidency
- 23 December Second round for the members of the Presidency of Montenegro and a President of the Presidency

#### 1992-1993

- 20 December 1992 first round for the President of the Republic of Montenegro
- 10 January 1993 second round for the President of the Republic of Montenegro

#### 1997

- 5 October first round for the President of the Republic of Montenegro
- 19 October second round for the President of the Republic of Montenegro

#### 2002

22 December – failed elections, turnout below required 50%

#### 2003

- 9 February failed repeated elections, turnout below required 50%
- 11 May successful third attempt due to the change in the law to eliminate 50% minimum turnout requirement for the President of the Republic of Montenegro

#### 2008

6 April – For the President of Montenegro

#### 2013

7 April - For the President of Montenegro

#### 2018

15 April - For the President of Montenegro

#### **Local Elections**

Information under tabs colored in yellow: elections for councilors, italic marks elections for presidents of municipalities/Mayor of Podgorica.

Information under tabs colors in black important legal changes concerning election of President of Municipality/Mayor of Podgorica.

#### 1990

- 9 December: local elections in all municipalities (20)

#### 1992

- 20 December: local elections in all municipalities

#### 1996

- 3 November: local elections in all municipalities

#### 1998

- 31 May: local elections in all municipalities

#### 2000

- 11 June: local elections in Podgorica and Herceg Novi

#### 2002

- 15 May: local electons in 19 municipalities
- 20 October: local elections in Podgorica and Tivat

#### 2003

- Adoption of the Law on the Election of the President of the Municipality: two-round majoritarian system (absolute majority required in first round for winning the elections; simple majority in second round); 5 years term; possibility of impeachment by citizens at polling stations (absolute majority in favor of impeachment required).

#### 2004

- 18 April: local elections in Tivat, also first round for the President of Municipality of Tivat

- 2 May: second round for the President of Municipality of Tivat
- 9 May: Herceg Novi, also first round for the President of Municipality of Herceg Novi
- 23 May: second round for the President of Municipality of Herceg Novi
- 29 August: for the President of the Municipality of Žabljak
- 12 December: Kotor, also first round for the President of Municipality of Kotor
- 26 December: second round for the President of Municipality of Kotor

#### 2005

- 22 May: Budva
- 10 December: Cetinje
- 12 March: Nikšić, also first round for the President of Nikšić Municipality
- 26 March: second round for the President of the Municipality of Nikšić
- 29 December: Mojkovac

#### 2006

- 10 September: Danilovgrad, Žabljak, Kolašin, Plav, Plužine, Pljevlja, Podgorica, Rožaje, Ulcinj, Šavnik; first round for the presidents of the following municipalities: Ulcinj, Berane, Pljevlja, Šavnik, Bar, Plužine, Danilovgrad, Bijelo Polje, Rožaje, Andrijevica, Kolašin, Nikšić and first round for the Mayor of Podgorica.
- 24 September: second round of elections for the presidents of the following municipalities: Pljevlja, Šavnik, Plav, Andrijevica, Ulcinj

#### 2008

- 6 April: Herceg Novi, Tivat
- 9 November: Kotor

#### 2009

- 29 March: Niksic, Budva, for the president of Municipality of Tivat, for the president of Municipality of Herceg Novi (voting repeated on two polling stations a week later)
- 6 December: Mojkovac
- 16 August: for the president of Municipality of Žabljak
- 8 November: for the president of Municipality of Kotor

#### 2009

- Amendments to the Law on Local Self-Government: President of Municipality/Mayor of Podgorica elected in local parliament following the

elections for councilors (Official Gazette of Montenegro – Municipal Regulations 88/2009, December 2009)

#### 2010

- 7 February: Cetinje
- 23 May: Andrijevica, Bar, Berane, Bijelo Polje, Danilovgrad, Kolašin, Plav, Pljevlja, Plužine, Podgorica, Tuzi\*, Golubovci\*, Rožaje, Šavnik, Žabljak
- 17 October: Ulcini

#### 2012

14 October: Budva, Kotor7 April: Herceg Novi, Tivat

#### 2013

- 9 March: Andrijevica, Nikšić

#### 2014

- 9 March: Berane
- 25 May: Bar, Bijelo Polje, Danilovgrad, Kolašin, Gusinje, Plužine,
  Podgorica, Town Municipality Tuzi, Town Municipality Golubovci, Rožaje,
  Šavnik

#### 2016

- 16 October: Andrijevica, Budva, Gusinje, Kotor
- 17 April: Tivat

#### 2017

- 26 November: Cetinje, Mojkovac
- 12 March: Nikšić
- 7 May: Herceg Novi

#### 2018

- 4 February: Berane, Ulcinj
- 20 May: Plužine
- 27 May: Bar, Bijelo Polje, Danilovgrad, Kolašin, Plav, Pljevlja, Rožaje, Podgorica, Žabljak, Šavnik

#### 2019

- 3 March: Tuzi

# 2020

- 30 August: Andrijevica, Gusinje, Budva, Kotor, Tivat

### Federal Elections (during the time of FR Yugoslavia, 1992-2002)

### 1992

- 31 May: for the election of federal MPs in the Chamber of Citizens
- 20 December: for the election of federal MPs in the Chamber of Citizens

### 1996

- 3 November: for the election of federal MPs in the Chamber of Citizens

#### 2000

- 24 September: for the election of federal MPs in the Chamber of Citizens, for the election of federal MPs in the Chamber of the Republics, and for the election of the President of FR Yugoslavia